How to Terminate an employee

In each employee's profile, you have the options to terminate, delete, and rehire the employee.

The button to terminate or delete an employee can only be accessed by Admins, and custom roles that are given that access as well.terminate.png

1. Click on the "people" module and use the search box to find the employee's profile.

2. Click into their "Employee Profile."

3. At the top right corner, click the three dots and select "terminate" from the dropdown menu.

You will be taken to the "Termination details" page. 

termination-details.png

4. You will need to fill in the employee's last day of work, select a termination type and reason. Once you've filled this in, click "Next."

Important Note

The termination type corresponds to the Service Canada Reasons for Termination and will directly affect the employee's ROE. Please review carefully and choose the option that most closely resembles the termination type.

The date you pick as the last day of work is also important because, after this date, the employee will lose access to Humi. If you have Humi Payroll, please remind the employee to download any paystubs they want from their Humi account before that date.

The termination date will also affect payroll because the terminated employee will be removed from the payroll after their last day of work. It's important to note that if an employee's last day of work is in the middle of a pay period they will have a prorated salary for that pay period. They will be removed from payroll on the following pay period.

After you terminate an employee on Humi payroll a prompt to complete an ROE will appear:

5. On the "Offboarding" page, you can select any necessary offboarding reminders for the employee then click "Next." You will be able to pick from a list of the ones that you've already made, so make sure you choose the appropriate reminders.

Once you complete the termination, the reminders will be active, triggering you to send out emails based upon the timelines that have been set.

Note

Offboarding Reminders must be created prior to terminating the employee if you would like to add any reminders/offboarding tasks. Check out this support article on "Creating Offboarding Tasks" for more information.

offboarding.png

6. You will now be on the "Review" page. This is where you can review the "Termination Details" and get a breakdown of the "Termination Procedure."

If everything is correct, click the "Complete" button.

complete-termination.png

 

How to find a terminated Employee's Profile

If an employee is terminated and you want to find their profile, go to People > Directory > Filter for Status and check off Terminated. 

This is important to note because terminated employees are not part of the default filter, and you may want to rehire them in the future.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.